Skip to main content
HomeMVS Memorial Scholarship

MVS Scholarships

The Merrimack Valley Striders running club awards scholarships to local high school seniors at the May MVS General Club Meeting.

The scholarships are given to eligible seniors preparing for college who have participated in cross country, indoor track or outdoor track during their high school years. All high schools through-out the membership area are notified of this scholarship opportunity. The students must submit a profile form along with an essay on "What running means to me" demonstrating their character and dedication to running.

In addition to the $2,000 scholarship, recipients receive a five-year membership in the Merrimack Valley Striders and one entry into the Feaster Five race held on Thanksgiving morning in Andover.

You can submit your entry for the 2017 MVS Scholarship at the link below:

2016 Recipients


The 2016 MVS scholarships were awarded to this year's recipients at the May General Meeting held at Salvatore's on May 25, 2016.  Merrimack Valley Striders were fortunate to add a ninth scholarship this year thanks to a special donation from Feaster Five Sponsor b Positive.



Congratulations to the 2016 MVS Memorial Scholarship winners!  


High School


Andover High School

Matthew, A, Tringali

Central Catholic High School

Jake M. Fogarty

Greater Lawrence Technical School

Sean J Powell

Haverhill High School

Jillian R. Lemieux

Methuen High School

Catrina J Crowe

North Andover High School

Matthew N Tabola

Pentucket High School

Sophia Capobianco

Tewksbury High School

Mario, A, Fuchu

Wilmington High School

Elisabeth Christine Olson


Click on the image to view essay highlights

In the photo, are from left, front row Elizabeth Olsen (Wilmington High School), Jillian Lemieux (Haverhill High School), Catrina Crowe (Methuen High School), and Sophia Capobianco (Pentucket High School).  Back row: Matthew Tabola (North Andover High School), Matthew Tringali (Andover High School), Jake Fogarty (Central Catholic High School), Sean Powell (Greater Lawrence Technical School), and Mario Fuchu (Tewksbury High School.)

Scholarship History

The MVS Memorial Scholarship program honors the memory of five members: Mike Dowe, Greg Gumbinner, Dean Peterson, Sam Denopoulos and Ralph Rockwood who died at early ages and "exemplified the character and dedication to running and fitness that the MVS organization encourages".



The Memorial Scholarship Fund began in 1998 and has awarded over $68,000 in scholarships to date.  Money comes from individual club member donations, as well as large annual donations from the Andover Feaster Five and Ogunquit Lobster Dash race proceeds.






  • The MVS Scholarship Fund depends on charitable donations from generous groups and individuals.   If you want to contribute to  this program that helps regional high school graduates transition to college, please feel free to donate from the link below.  Your charitable donation is tax-deductable.



MVS Scholarship Fund.